痤疮是一种非常常见的皮肤病,我每天帮助数十名患者解决此类困扰。它不仅会给患者带来身体上的疼痛和囊肿留下的疤痕,而且也可能造成一定心理上的影响,打击自信心,甚至导致抑郁和焦虑。

我的痤疮经历

我知道你们都在说:“Massie 医生,一个像你这样拥有完美脸庞的人怎么会理解痤疮和缺乏自信呢?”好吧,告诉你们一个小秘密。我的高中时期,大概是 8 到 9 年前(不要质疑这些数字),在成为大家都知道的潇洒绅士之前,我自己也曾与痤疮作斗争。

在高中的大部分时间里,我尝试了无数种治疗来缓解我的中度痤疮。没有一个成功到足以让我可以约到一个女孩!但请记住,尽管我没有葡萄牙血统,但我几乎每天都穿着破洞运动裤和​​葡萄牙足球衫,所以可能这些也是潜在因素。。。

就这样,我很幸运能够通过局部治疗、偶尔使用抗生素和良好的护肤品来控制我的粉刺痘痘的出现并避免疤痕。然而,在某些情况下,这些治疗是不够的。这就是我们需要异维A酸的时候,更广为人知的名字是Accutane,以及最近的Epuris和Clarus。

Accutane是如何起到作用的?

每当我向患者提出 Accutane 的想法时,我总是很想知道他们的反应。外界有太多信息甚至错误信息,我发现患者很少有开放的心态。这是不幸的,因为有时本可以从中受益的患者因太害怕尝试而错过治疗机会,他们甚至无法说出为什么不敢尝试的原因。

异维A酸是类维生素A,因此是维生素A衍生物。它通过收缩皮脂腺和减少皮脂产生而起作用,皮脂分泌是一种滋生细菌的物质,会使痤疮恶化。它有助于疏通毛孔、减少油脂分泌并限制炎症,从而仅用一种药物即可解决所有引起痤疮的原因。

找到合适的剂量

父母经常因为自己的经历而造成孩子服药的紧张感,因此去了解如今事态的变化和进步是很重要的。多年前,普遍认知是大剂量治疗计划会获得最佳效果。然而,最近的研究表明,管理治疗同样可以成功,使用更合理的剂量以减少副作用。这通常为每天与食物一起服用一次,而不是像以前那样每粒药片配着 72 盎司牛排和大餐来吃!

Accutane的副作用

与所有药物一样,出现轻微的副作用是正常的。大多数患者可能会感觉到皮肤干燥和嘴唇干燥。通常,这轻微到可以用无油润肤霜和一些凡士林涂抹唇部来解决此类困扰。不太常见的副作用为鼻出血、眼睛干涩、关节疼痛和腹部不适。在整个过程中,我们还会监测抑郁症,尽管大多数研究发现没有证据表明药物会影响一个人的情绪。

怎么开始?

在开始之前以及治疗过程中的特定检查点,所有患者都需要完成一些血液检查。在大多数情况下,患者会服药近六个月的时间,在此期间我们每个月都会进行面诊以监测进展并进行任何必要的调整。

女性患者需要采取两种避孕方式,因为此类药物对发育中的胎儿不安全。请放心,如果您还没有节育措施,我们可以一起找到最佳选择,并在我们的诊所为您开具处方。

总结

异维A酸治疗痤疮的成功率非常高,最大的好处之一是,一旦疗程全部结束它的效果通常会持续。这是我认为唯一可以永久改善痤疮的一款药物。不管你听说过什么有关此类药物的负面信息,如果你的痤疮对其他治疗没有反应,欢迎来我们卡尔加里皮肤科诊所讨论其他治疗方案!

Acne is a very common skin condition that I help manage for dozens of patients daily. Not only can it bother patients physically with pain and scarring from cysts, but a large part of its effects can also be psychological, affecting self-confidence and even contributing to depression and anxiety.

My Experience with Acne

Now I know, you’re all saying, Dr. Massie what would a guy with a perfect face like yours know about acne and low self-confidence? Well, I’ll let you in on a little secret. Back in high school, probably 8-9 years ago (don’t question those numbers), before being the dashing gentleman-about-town you all know, I struggled with acne myself.

Throughout most of high school, I tried countless treatments for my moderate acne vulgaris. None were successful enough for me to get any of the dates I wanted though! But keep in mind I also wore tear-away track pants and Portuguese soccer jerseys almost every day, despite having no Portuguese heritage, so there might have been multiple factors contributing to that…

That being said, I was lucky enough to manage my acne and avoid scarring with topical treatments, occasional antibiotics, and good skincare. However, in some cases, these treatments aren’t enough. That’s where we look to Isotretinoin, better known as Accutane, and more recently Epuris and Clarus.

How does Accutane work?

Whenever I bring the idea of Accutane up with a patient, I am always curious to see their reactions. There is so much information and misinformation out there that I find it’s rare for a patient to have an open mind. It’s unfortunate, because sometimes patients who could benefit from it are too scared to try without even being able to say why.

Isotretinoin is a retinoid and thus a Vitamin A derivative. It works by shrinking sebaceous glands and decreasing sebum production, a product that feeds the bacteria that worsens acne. It helps to unclog pores, decrease oil production, and limit inflammation, thus tackling all causes of acne with just one medication.

Finding the Right Dosage

I have parents often come in nervous about putting their child on medication because of their own experiences, so it is important to realize how much things have changed. Years ago, the consensus was that a high-dose treatment plan would get the best results. However, recent studies have shown that management can be just as successful with far more reasonable doses that cause fewer side effects. This is typically taken daily once with food but unlike before you no longer need to eat a 72 oz steak and a Denny’s Grand Slam with each pill!

Side Effects of Accutane

As with all medication, there is always a chance of experiencing mild side effects. Most patients can expect dry skin and dry lips. Usually, this is mild enough to manage with an oil-free moisturizer and some Vaseline for the lips. Less commonly, patients can develop nose bleeds, dry eyes, joint pains, and abdominal discomfort. Throughout the process we also monitor for symptoms of depression, though most research has found that there is no evidence of the medication impacting one’s mood.

Getting Started

Before getting started as well as at certain checkpoints during the process, all patients will need to get some bloodwork done. In most cases, patients spend approximately six months on the medication during which we meet every month to monitor progress and make any necessary adjustments.

Female patients will need to practice two forms of contraception as the medication is not safe for developing fetuses. Rest assured, if you do not have birth control already, we can find the best option together and have it prescribed for you at our clinic.

Final Thoughts

Isotretinoin has a very high success rate for treating acne and one of the greatest benefits is that its results typically continue once we have completed the course. It is the only medication I have that can permanently alter the course of acne for the better. Regardless of what you’ve heard about it, if you have acne that is not responding to other treatments, you can only benefit from coming by my dermatology clinic in Calgary to discuss other options!